Building in LDD

Not Lego but still Lego.

Moderator: The Shadowscythe

Building in LDD

Postby Quantumsurfer » Tue Mar 11, 2014 4:36 pm

I'd like to compile, if we could, a list of tips and tricks for building in LDD. Anything you can think of, post here. It might be especially useful to new builders who might find LDD a little frustrating at first. I'm still relatively new at it but I think I've got a decent grasp of the program now. And a lot of it learned the hard way. If we get enough tips going, maybe we could index them here in the first post. So here are a few things I can think of:

• Save Super Often: It's obvious, but its even more important when using LDD. LDD can already be frustrating enough. It crashes and you lose hours of work...rageworthy.
  • Ctrl+Z: Time Saver, as with anything. But again, moreso with this program as you're naturally trying things out, building and rebuilding.
  • Use the Ever Loving Fuck Out of the Hide Tool: Especially if you lack a little in processing power, the Hide Tool becomes your best damn friend in the world. Recently, whilst building a very large model, I had to build a section separate and import it. When I did, I could not get it to connect where I wanted it to. So I hid every damn thing but the connection point and a little extra. It was still a pain in the ass, but connection became possible after just a few tries. I could even save the construction without LDD crashing, so hooray for that. Also, since LDD doesn't have to render everything you've built, it moves much faster and these kinds of large scale operations don't become drag and wait delay games. What's more, LDD gets real wonky about its angles. You could have zoomed in to nothing but the single stud you want to place on but if the angle isn't right, the brick will just go where it wants to. The Hide Tool mitigates that significantly and allows you to place where you want by eliminating the other possibilities.