Critical Success/Failure

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

Critical Success/Failure

Postby sirchristopher2 » Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:03 pm

Do I have this right?

Skill/Attack roll of 1 is bad, potentially harmful miss, jam, etc...
Sprint roll of 1 = trip
Damage roll of 1 = broken/dropped weapon

Exploding 6’s = what happens if you get a 1 after a 6?
Automatic fire = stop/jam on first 1?

Thanks!
TROLOLO
sirchristopher2
Nice Dubs
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:29 am
Location: Uxbridge, MA U.S.A.

Postby RunsWithLegos » Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:13 pm

well, for my fails i roll a 1d4

1 kill self and closest ally

2 kill self

3 broken weapon

4 jammed weapon

and any 1's on a bonus roll for a crit success is just a +one to the roll and not a fail .
User avatar
RunsWithLegos
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby Gungnir » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:09 pm

Do critical successes and failures even affect damage rolls?
Give a minifig an inch, and he'll murder for a mile.
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby RunsWithLegos » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:11 pm

not for me they don't
User avatar
RunsWithLegos
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby RunsWithLegos » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:12 pm

fails on attacks don't end in death or any thing bad but sucseses are always aplicable to everything.
User avatar
RunsWithLegos
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby stubby » Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:28 pm

Crit fails only happen when all the dice in a roll come up on a 1. So they can't occur on exploding dice, by definition.
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm

Postby muffinman42 » Tue Nov 09, 2010 12:55 pm

I apply it too skill rolls only. A Critical is achieved when it's all 6 or all 1, then another die is rolled too determine effect.

If you have a mega weapon which needs a total skill of 12 too operate, then if all of the dice assigned too the roll (for example if i have 3 figs with 1 D6 of skill each) fail on a 1 then a roll would be taken too find the extent of damage, same for aiming.
User avatar
muffinman42
Mega Blok
 
Posts: 1397
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 2:33 pm
Location: Gale Crator

Postby Fulizer » Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:15 am

Like muffinman, I too only apply critical failure to Skill but don't be fooled into coming up with a table of the varying degree off ailure, use your initiative to decide how critical the failure sould be, why should your cun jam when it could unrealistic amounts of recoil, knocking the firer into a very flimsy tree?
TROLOLO
Fulizer
Cannon Fodder
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:39 pm
Location: there... inside your mind

Postby Warhead » Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:48 am

stubby wrote:Crit fails only happen when all the dice in a roll come up on a 1. So they can't occur on exploding dice, by definition.


Ah, I did not realise this. An elegant bit of rulesmystering. :guinness:
Image
Image
Motherfucker!
User avatar
Warhead
Blockguy
 
Posts: 10926
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 2:07 pm
Location: I'm Momnipresent.

Postby RunsWithLegos » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:45 am

stubby wrote:Crit fails only happen when all the dice in a roll come up on a 1. So they can't occur on exploding dice, by definition.


do crit fails happen to indeviduals in a group attack?
User avatar
RunsWithLegos
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Colorado, USA


Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest