Taking up my pen again in a manner of speaking......

You know, whatever

Moderators: Almighty Benny, Blitzen, Silent-sigfig

Taking up my pen again in a manner of speaking......

Postby White Nun » Fri Aug 19, 2011 12:22 am

Only if it was that simple (sigh) Waaaaay back in my misspent youth there wasn't such a thing as personal computers and it was a typewriter, pen and paper or nothing. I wrote some very good stories with just pen and paper and my fevered imagination. I liked the direct connection between hand and brain and it took me a long time before I moved on to using a typewriter. It was an ancient back cast iron Imperial at first and then an IBM 'golfball' typewriter which sounded like a machine gun; - I did all my coursework for my Social Work qualifications on that IBM typewriter too and almost the day after I graduated it blew up and never went no more.

In between my busy typewriting a friend suggested I try out his Commodore 64 and I must admit I found it very interesting to use, but then HORROR! I must've touched the wrong key because all my work disappeared :shock:

That did it, - I never went near another computer for years and nobody could persaude me otherwise. I wasn't going to use some machine that could eat my manuscript in a blink of an eye without leaving a trace. At least with a typewriter nuffing could go wrong and wot was on the page stayed on the page.

So why am I rabbiting on about typewriters and things for? Well the thing is writers tend to get very attached to whatever it is they use to write with.
After the IBM typewriter I got my very first computer, or computers, which were a pile of scrap ex government IBM 8088s which I built up into my very first machine. I've still got it stashed away somewhere; - still goes.