The Deadly Spaceman!!

Supplement ideas, house rules, homemade stat cards, homebrew weapon types, and other cool variations

Moderators: warman45, Rev. Sylvanus

Postby IVhorseman » Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:31 pm

hate to break it to you, but 1d20 doesn't necessarily mean high number of UR. in fact, 1d6+8 will on average give you a higher number than 1d20. keep in mind that 1d20 doesn't mean you'll get a high number - it means you'll get any number between 1 and 20. even the crappy numbers.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6335
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Postby King of Brix » Sun Jan 06, 2008 3:48 pm

True, but no matter what, he'll get to use whatever he want, as everything has a use rate of 1 when the spaceman tries to do something.
Red Clay Studios Click here, and read my latest battle report! More coming soon.
User avatar
King of Brix
Minifig
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:47 am
Location: On a recently purchased grey baseplate.

Postby Tiny Tank Rannon » Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:54 pm

King of Brix wrote:True, but no matter what, he'll get to use whatever he want, as everything has a use rate of 1 when the spaceman tries to do something.


but a roll of one means a critical failure, even Deadly space-man screws up sometime.

and clearly a rule of 0 on a D0 is a critical success because it's the highest number on a D0.
User avatar
Tiny Tank Rannon
Cannon Fodder
 
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Near Windsor, Ontario, Canada

Postby King of Brix » Mon Jan 07, 2008 4:31 pm

You didn't read at all, did you? He can't come up with a total of one, seeing as he gets +1 to skill rolls. And 0 is also the lowest number on a d0, and the deadly spaceman considers a 0 a failure, despite it being either one or the other. Owned.
Red Clay Studios Click here, and read my latest battle report! More coming soon.
User avatar
King of Brix
Minifig
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 12:47 am
Location: On a recently purchased grey baseplate.

Postby piltogg » Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:23 pm

k.o.b. has a valid point also i made deadly space man and he doesn't look nearly as awesome as in mikes pictures. but still pretty good
Image
User avatar
piltogg
Clown-Face Bologna
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:16 pm
Location: Fictional Deutschland

Postby james+burgundy » Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:25 pm

I don't have a 20 sided dice :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
User avatar
james+burgundy
Pooplord
 
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:34 pm

Postby Blitzen » Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:28 pm

I do. It's blue.
Image
Often, literally, a pillow fight but may include similar situations like volleyball, particularly when wardrobe is skimpy and the action is bouncy.
User avatar
Blitzen
Distinguished Owner of the English Language
 
Posts: 1897
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Postby Bonn-o-Tron » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:14 pm

I've got two orange 20 sided dice =D
Image
:rei: :rei: :rei: :rei: :rei: :rei: :rei:
User avatar
Bonn-o-Tron
Playmobil
 
Posts: 1684
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 11:58 pm
Location: Brodmann area 17

Postby Olothontor » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:16 pm

I have about ten purple ones. Of course, that's important when you play D&D...
"In a mad world, only the mad are sane." - Akira Kurosawa
-=[ Visage ]=-

Image
User avatar
Olothontor
Clown-Face Bologna
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 9:29 pm
Location: Lounging in a commercial Starliner of his own design.

Postby Blitzen » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:26 pm

Ten at a time though? I thought you only need one. Unless of course you have a super special awesome ray gun that does 10d20 damage, because then you would really need them all.
Image
Often, literally, a pillow fight but may include similar situations like volleyball, particularly when wardrobe is skimpy and the action is bouncy.
User avatar
Blitzen
Distinguished Owner of the English Language
 
Posts: 1897
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Postby Silent Mobius » Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:28 pm

King of Brix wrote:He can't come up with a total of one, seeing as he gets +1 to skill rolls. And 0 is also the lowest number on a d0, and the deadly spaceman considers a 0 a failure, despite it being either one or the other. Owned.

How would a human like us even begin to know how a minifig thinks. For all we know he see a 0 on a d0 to be over 9000. Un-Owned.

So if he did roll a d0 and did consider it to be a crit failure but got +1 to the roll would he then gain the ultimate power because a 1 isn't even on a d0?
Get that corn outta my face!
User avatar
Silent Mobius
Nice Dubs
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 5:09 am
Location: Texas

Postby DarkWolf » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:15 pm

Blitzen wrote:Ten at a time though? I thought you only need one. Unless of course you have a super special awesome ray gun that does 10d20 damage, because then you would really need them all.


I've got 2d20, one orange and the other blue. But I need at least four more, preferbly six of the same color. Thermonuclear missiles dealing 6d20 damage. At worst, it wipes out all the minifigs in the area, at best, it levels the frakking battlefield.
"For every battle honour, a thousand heros die alone, unsung and unremembered"
--Anonymous
"Glory to the first man to die!"
--Commissar saying
"When in doubt, empty the magazine!"
--Steel Legion motto
User avatar
DarkWolf
Minifig
 
Posts: 200
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 12:07 pm
Location: The frozen North

Postby Rayhawk » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:20 pm

Silent Mobius wrote:So if he did roll a d0 and did consider it to be a crit failure but got +1 to the roll would he then gain the ultimate power because a 1 isn't even on a d0?

If he rolls a critical success on a d0, that just means he gets to roll bonus d0s. It's an infinite loop.
User avatar
Rayhawk
Overlord
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:02 pm
Location: BrikWars HQ, USA

Postby Blitzen » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:20 pm

Rayhawk wrote:
Silent Mobius wrote:So if he did roll a d0 and did consider it to be a crit failure but got +1 to the roll would he then gain the ultimate power because a 1 isn't even on a d0?

If he rolls a critical success on a d0, that just means he gets to roll bonus d0s. It's an infinite loop.


Nay. In the rules, it clearly states that for every critical success you can roll one additional d6.
Image
Often, literally, a pillow fight but may include similar situations like volleyball, particularly when wardrobe is skimpy and the action is bouncy.
User avatar
Blitzen
Distinguished Owner of the English Language
 
Posts: 1897
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:17 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Postby Rayhawk » Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:24 pm

Blitzen wrote:
Rayhawk wrote:If he rolls a critical success on a d0, that just means he gets to roll bonus d0s. It's an infinite loop.

Nay. In the rules, it clearly states that for every critical success you can roll one additional d6.

But 1.4 also says, "It's unclear whether or not a roll of 0 on a d0 counts as a Critical Success." It's clearly unclear!
User avatar
Rayhawk
Overlord
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:02 pm
Location: BrikWars HQ, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Bonus Material

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests