Killing people bare-handed

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

Postby OneEye589 » Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:44 pm

Massam wrote:instead of merely compressing it, your goal is to bruise it, or puncture it.


That's the key word.

Ninjutsu is a serious martial art, but even though the hits are dangerous they are not deadly.

In fight science they showed how the punch paralyzed the heart for not even a half a second. When you sneeze your heart stops as well. Pretty much it's equivalent to making you sneeze. With more pain.

There are moves you can do that will knock your opponent unconscious with one hit, but usually that's if they are unaware and you have a lot of time to prepare.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby Massam » Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:47 pm

Dammit, that's what happens when you argue about something you saw a year ago. Oh well, I'm still sort of right.
everyone> Image <massam
User avatar
Massam
Galidor
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Returning to the light

Postby IVhorseman » Tue Feb 17, 2009 3:38 am

No. You're not.

Also, you can legitimately kill someone bare-handed if you land some SERIOUSLY LUCKY SHOTS, like a sucker-punch to the temple, or dropping an elbow into a man's skull. Let's not forget our good buddy the curb stomp!
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6350
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Postby OneEye589 » Tue Feb 17, 2009 7:44 am

IVhorseman wrote:Also, you can legitimately kill someone bare-handed if you land some SERIOUSLY LUCKY SHOTS, like a sucker-punch to the temple, or dropping an elbow into a man's skull. Let's not forget our good buddy the curb stomp!


Yea, I don't think that's going to happen very easily with one shot.

Brikwars is mostly about one shot, one kill (or multiple kills in some cases). That's why whoever had this special power to deliver killing blows would need some serious abilities.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby IVhorseman » Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:05 pm

pretty much. I mean i guess you could bump the UR up to like... eight or something.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6350
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Postby Massam » Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:08 pm

What if the target was knocked down by an explosion or because he bailed? You could curb-stomp him then.
everyone> Image <massam
User avatar
Massam
Galidor
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Returning to the light

Postby OneEye589 » Tue Feb 17, 2009 6:32 pm

Massam wrote:What if the target was knocked down by an explosion or because he bailed? You could curb-stomp him then.


Well, I would take that as a house rule. Added damage all turn long?

In this situation it would go like this with the added house rule of damage carries ALL turn:

The explosion happens and damages the minifig. You roll for damage and the minifig rolls for armor. You keep track every turn of how much damage a minifig can take before his armor is beaten, in this case we'll say he has two left over after the explosion. Now, using some house rule for unarmed attacks he would be able to damage the minifig for the last two damage and kill him.

But that's beside the point. We're getting into a whole new house rule with that.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby Cpt. Zipps » Mon Mar 16, 2009 6:45 pm

The Only People/Things That can Kill with Bare hands

My Little penises( Duh? )

Duct Tape( My Little penises' only competition )

Gordon Freeman( Although, he prefers to use a crowbar)

Mr T.( No explanation needed)

Master Chief ( Because he's cool like that )

Ninjas( Everyone loves ninjas)

Heroes
Image
User avatar
Cpt. Zipps
Playmobil
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 11:01 am
Location: Mangled, inside Audrey II

Postby RJ » Tue May 12, 2009 12:03 pm

if you included batman or superman (sorry marvel) in a brikwar how would they attack?

Fistfighting is the only think most superheroes are good for
dilanski wrote:Have your imaginary balls exploded all over the keypad or something?
User avatar
RJ
Mega Blok
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 10:31 am
Location: Destroying Groin's Face

Postby Rayhawk » Wed May 13, 2009 1:15 am

Batman would be pretty useless in a BrikWar, since he has a thing against killing. Mostly his job is to let badguys beat him up so that he can secretly attach tracking devices to them. In BrikWars terms, of course, a Bat-tracking device gives the target a +6 modifier to be hit by attacks, but it's still pretty lame.

Superman on the other hand would have a whole pile of Super dice to play with, using the modified Supernatural Powers supplement for 2005. I figure he's pretty godlike, so he'd get something like 5d12 or so (+35cp) towards his Super Cliche of "He's fucking Superman."

A minifig punch normally does zero Damage, but once you add a couple of Super d12s to that, now you're talking business.
User avatar
Rayhawk
Overlord
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:02 pm
Location: BrikWars HQ, USA

Postby IVhorseman » Wed May 13, 2009 1:19 am

wait... THAT is how SP works? How the hell was that so hard to figure out?
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6350
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Postby Rayhawk » Wed May 13, 2009 2:10 am

IVhorseman wrote:wait... THAT is how SP works? How the hell was that so hard to figure out?

When was SP hard to figure out? It's not the figuring stuff out that takes time, it's the formatting it into illustrated and examplified webpages. Hell, SP was figured out ages ago.

SP: No more complicated SP points and effect purchasing tables. Now you ust buy SP dice, with a CP cost equal to half their number of faces plus one. (E.g., +3cp per d4, +7cp per d12, etc.)

Each die may be used once per turn for instantaneous effects (i.e., a die used to boost Armor only protects against a single attack or grouped attack; it doesn't boost armor for the full turn), and the effects are strictly limited to the Super unit's Super Cliche.

Each die can be assigned to add or subtract inches or points to any one of the following: Range, Damage, Armor, Skill, Movement (full inches for regular movement, half inches for flight), and Effective Size (for lifting, throwing, or operating large objects). If d10s or d12s are assigned to Damage, it's always Explosion Damage; otherwise dice do standard Damage with no area effect.

(Old stuff that's no longer allowed: Area, Duration, Create/Uncreate Matter, Influence Thought, Lend Power, and Flexibility. Some parts of Telekinesis, Portal, and Know are special cases that can still work but don't get their own sections anymore.)

Dice may be rolled one at a time or in groups, according to preference; players don't have to decide in advance the total number of dice they plan to use for a given effect.

If used for an Action, each die used adds +1 to Use rating. Super units still get only one Action per turn.

THE FUN PART: Whenever a 1 is rolled, your opponent may immediately re-roll that die and use it to modify your effect however he wishes (range inches in the wrong direction being a common choice). If your opponent also rolls a 1, the die is wasted.
Last edited by Rayhawk on Wed May 13, 2009 2:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Rayhawk
Overlord
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:02 pm
Location: BrikWars HQ, USA

Postby IVhorseman » Wed May 13, 2009 2:13 am

See, what the hell, that is awesome.

I just remember sifting through pages and pages on the PDF and having to re-read everything a million times and I still didn't get it.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6350
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Postby Rody » Wed May 13, 2009 2:14 pm

dang, supernatural powers just got.. well... usable, and awesome.
Act first, then think, then try to find a way to cover up the horrible mess you made.
Si Hoc Legere Scis Nimium Eruditionis Habes
User avatar
Rody
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1950
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:48 am
Location: Below sea-level

Postby Cpt. Zipps » Mon May 18, 2009 2:00 pm

Sorry, on my list I forgot to include the reanimated corpse of Freddy Mercury.
Image
User avatar
Cpt. Zipps
Playmobil
 
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 11:01 am
Location: Mangled, inside Audrey II

PreviousNext

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest