Special creations: Chariots.

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

Special creations: Chariots.

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Sat Aug 28, 2010 9:22 am

Is the horse part of the chariot and are they one creature with a submissive half mind or is the chariot operated by the submissive half minded horse that gets orders from the rider?

this all sound a bit difficult, some help would be awesome.
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Postby OneEye589 » Sat Aug 28, 2010 11:43 am

I would do the cost for a horse (or however many horses are pulling it), then make the actual chariot a creation with only an armor value. The chariot and horses move at the same speed as the horses.

This way, if the chariot is severed from the horses, they can still both exist on the playing field.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Sun Aug 29, 2010 11:25 am

Thanks but then still I think Chariot combat is a bit complicated.

6.Imagine a Chariot with a driver and a spearman next to him, now lets say the chariot charges at a minifig and the spearmanr attacks their target while driving past him.
Would you then add the MOM from the chariot to the spearmans attack or would his MOM just stay at 1D6?

7.And if the chariot is cought in CC then the horse would be able to take an angry inch if commanded by the driver, but the horse is stuck to the chariot so........

8. And if you chop of 1 out of 2 wheels from the chariot did you then destroy 1/2 or 1/3 of the propulsion system (does the horse count as part of the propulsion system) and are the wheels even propulsion systems, they don't propel?

I find this all a bit hard to fudge so what are your thoughts on this?
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Postby Gungnir » Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:15 pm

The chariot only gets a MOM bonus if the chariot itself is attacking. Since it's the minifig swinging the spear, he still only gets a 1d6 bonus.

The chariot can't be in CC, but the minifig driving it can. However, if the chariot is moving, the minifig is forced out of CC due to the chariot pulling him.

If you knock off one or both wheels, the chariot gets a movement penalty because of drag, depending on how many wheels were knocked off.

That work?
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby OneEye589 » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:23 pm

It would be exactly like riding a horse and jousting. There's no difference.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:34 pm

So you are suggesting that it all depends on if he's strapped in or not? well that sound logic. then it is smarter for my spearman to just slash a target then charge because he would easily fall of as he is not strapped in.

This brings up another question may you only pair a two-handed (charging?) weapon with a shield if you are jousting, always when you are charging or when you are on a horse?
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Postby Gungnir » Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:51 pm

*CRAZYHORSE* wrote:So you are suggesting that it all depends on if he's strapped in or not? well that sound logic. then it is smarter for my spearman to just slash a target then charge because he would easily fall of as he is not strapped in.

This brings up another question may you only pair a two-handed (charging?) weapon with a shield if you are jousting, always when you are charging or when you are on a horse?

I'm pretty sure you can't pair shields with two-handed weapons. Or do you mean Heavy Weapons? I think you can pair a shield with a heavy weapon whenever.
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby Cpl. Halan » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:01 pm

No,When you're mounted you can use a 2H weapon and a shield. It's in chapter H under Lances
Weapon Cost Use Range Damage Notes
Close Combat Weapons
Two-Handed Weapon (on foot) 4CP 4 CC 2d6 (+MOM) Two-Handed; -1" to Move
Two-Handed Weapon (Jousting) 4CP 4 CC 2d6 (+MOM) may be paired with Shield
Fire, Fire, burning bright
Burning down the house tonight


Heroism is not the ability to kick ass. It is the willingness to use this ability on any poor bastard who so much as looks at you funny.
User avatar
Cpl. Halan
Dimmy
 
Posts: 531
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 3:35 pm
Location: Maryland

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Sun Aug 29, 2010 5:09 pm

Cpl. Halan wrote:No,When you're mounted you can use a 2H weapon and a shield. It's in chapter H under Lances
Weapon Cost Use Range Damage Notes
Close Combat Weapons
Two-Handed Weapon (on foot) 4CP 4 CC 2d6 (+MOM) Two-Handed; -1" to Move
Two-Handed Weapon (Jousting) 4CP 4 CC 2d6 (+MOM) may be paired with Shield


Yeah but it says when jousting not when mounted.
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Postby Keldoclock » Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:20 am

[color= brown]Fudge[/color] it- if he leaves the chariot he must drop something or a over-loaded minifig cannot move.
Image
stubby wrote:omg noob, balrogs are maiars too, don't you know anything
User avatar
Keldoclock
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: New York City

Postby Gungnir » Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:08 pm

Cpl. Halan wrote:No,When you're mounted you can use a 2H weapon and a shield. It's in chapter H under Lances.

What book are you reading?
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby lrdofbricks » Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:52 pm

probably 2001 rules
Image
LEGION- fear it
the 100000 post- by me
"manliness= X(warhead+piltog)^2/James+burgandy"
User avatar
lrdofbricks
Jaw-Jaw
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 8:35 am
Location: delaWhere?

Postby Gungnir » Mon Aug 30, 2010 3:29 pm

Silverdream wrote:The 2005 rules.

I don't see a "Chapter H" in the 2005 rulebook.
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby Keldoclock » Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:07 pm

Chapter H is the horse page.
Image
stubby wrote:omg noob, balrogs are maiars too, don't you know anything
User avatar
Keldoclock
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:19 pm
Location: New York City

Postby Gungnir » Tue Aug 31, 2010 7:51 am

You're all being very silly. Very silly indeed.

Under Two-Handed Weapons:
There is one important exception to the two-hands requirement: jousting. Although Two-Handed Weapons are too
heavy to swing with one hand, nothing stops a mounted minifig from tucking it one under one arm and riding full-tilt
at an opponent with it. A minifig riding a steed or vehicle only needs one hand to use a Two-Handed Weapon in a Charge attack (5.4: Charge!), as long as it has a pointy tip.
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Next

Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron