The only concept in brikwars I have never really understood.

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

The only concept in brikwars I have never really understood.

Postby piltogg » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:00 pm

ok, so response fire.

If you are playing in a battle in which you are taking turns as to whos turn it is to move and fire. And you can consider a turn to have happened once every player has had a chance to move and fire. Then it makes sense that if a unit of one of the first players did not take an action then it would be able to have a response action instead. BUT, if an opportunity arises in which a player has not had his turn and would like to make a response action, is he allowed to make a response action? Because technically, he has not made the decision yet as to whether he will do something or not.

This problem does not really seem to come up in real battles, but with forum battle s it seems to be a pretty big issue.
Image
User avatar
piltogg
Clown-Face Bologna
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:16 pm
Location: Fictional Deutschland

Postby RunsWithLegos » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:46 pm

I don't know about you guy's, but i generally do Combined movement turns and separate attacks in every thing But FB's. ANd during attack my friends and I allow the defender to make an response attack if it would be possible IRL, like if the attacker stood right in front of them and then shot. it makes things easier, and almost nullifies your problem.
User avatar
RunsWithLegos
Pooplord
 
Posts: 2857
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 6:45 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Postby Zahru II » Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:59 pm

If a unit fails to get in range/has no other peculiar orders in a turn, I gave it a response action as it still has an unused action.
User avatar
Zahru II
balls just have this nasty tendency to wear out over time
 
Posts: 4509
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:22 am
Location: Hüngäry

Re: The only concept in brikwars I have never really underst

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:32 am

piltogg wrote:And you can consider a turn to have happened once every player has had a chance to move and fire.

Don't we call this a round?

But to answer your question I believe they do get response fire because they simply didn't take an action when they entered the game so they still have an action left from an imaginary turn that exists before the game started.

In other words they just walked onto the battlefield and nothing required their focus and attention so they still have a response action.
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Postby Gungnir » Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:00 pm

An action can be saved by any unit, as long as it hasn't taken it yet. However, at the start of your next turn, that saved action "goes bad," and can't be used.
Give a minifig an inch, and he'll murder for a mile.
User avatar
Gungnir
Dimmy
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 3:01 am

Postby *CRAZYHORSE* » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:08 am

But I believe he is talking about a unit or squad that hasn't even had a previous turn yet.

Like when a new faction enters the game.
stubby wrote:You were inb4beluga.
User avatar
*CRAZYHORSE*
My Little Pony
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: Procrasturbating.

Postby piltogg » Thu Mar 24, 2011 2:50 pm

correct
Image
User avatar
piltogg
Clown-Face Bologna
 
Posts: 2443
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 6:16 pm
Location: Fictional Deutschland

Postby stubby » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:00 pm

As long as the unit didn't use its Action on its previous turn, then it still has an Action to spend. At the beginning of the game, none of the units on the field had a previous turn, so of course they haven't spent their Actions yet.
User avatar
stubby
forum janitor
 
Posts: 4922
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:31 pm


Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest