Question about withdrawing

Rules questions, suggestions, and discussion

Moderators: Pwnerade, IVhorseman

Question about withdrawing

Postby Massam » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:10 pm

I'm doing a solo game and this situation popped up.
x o x
X's are one side, o is the other.
one x withdraws x o -----x
If o goes after him with his free attack, can the other x get a free attack on him ( o ) for withdrawing?
everyone> Image <massam
User avatar
Massam
Galidor
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Returning to the light

Postby OneEye589 » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:28 pm

Okay, so I'll just call them Team X and Team O. The X on the left will be XL and the X on the right will be XR. The O will be just O.

XL O XR

It's Team X's turn, and XR moves away.

XL O -----> XR

O follows in response.

XL -----> O XR

O finishes his action and does whatever he was going to do in the response.

XL O XR

Now I think I would just rule it on the basis of whether XL had moved already or not. If XL had already MOVED this turn I would say he could not follow. If he did NOT move already this turn he could follow as well.

That's what I would do.
User avatar
OneEye589
Pooplord
 
Posts: 4255
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 6:35 pm
Location: New York

Postby Massam » Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:30 pm

All right, thanks. That was what I was leaning towards, especially because he had moved, was a floor below, and had a two handed weapon and armor.
Wasn't sure though.
everyone> Image <massam
User avatar
Massam
Galidor
 
Posts: 1051
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 4:44 pm
Location: Returning to the light

Postby IVhorseman » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:00 am

Yes.
User avatar
IVhorseman
If she don't want the brick, she won't get the dick
 
Posts: 6376
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: The Abyss

Postby Rayhawk » Mon Jan 19, 2009 2:58 am

If the X on the right decides to Withdraw, then O gets the free attack on him instantly, before he moves out of range. O doesn't need to move at all.

And, in fact, he probably can't, because it's not his turn. When the X's turn is done, then the O can Withdraw from the left X to chase after the right X. However, Withdrawing uses up his Action so he won't be able to attack the right X on that turn even if he catches him.
User avatar
Rayhawk
Overlord
 
Posts: 1016
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 8:02 pm
Location: BrikWars HQ, USA


Return to The Rulebook

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest