If a hero attempts a feat and his roll equals or exceeds the enemy's, the feat is successful. However, for applicable feats, if the rolls are equal, the feat could be successful but not in the way the hero intended.
For example: my hero is attempting to break the handcuffs restraining him. If he succeeds, the handcuffs shatter and he's free. If he fails, he dislocates a shoulder. However, if his roll exactly equals his enemy's, he manages to free himself...but by ripping his own hand off, not by breaking the handcuffs.
Just a thought.
This should be in the Rulebook somewhere:
"Any problem on earth can be solved with the careful application of high explosives"
-Valkyrie (the movie)